Surviving Adult Reports Childhood MSbP Torture: Part 3 – From “Lyme disease” to “Bipolar Disorder”

From “Lyme disease” to “Bipolar Disorder”

As I describe in my previous posts, when I was a child, my psychiatrist mother (the perpetrator) claimed that we all had “Lyme disease” (I am to this day unsure of how true all this was) and treated us all (along with everyone else on Cape Cod) with OxyContin, a powerful painkiller that is never indicated for Lyme disease.

By the time I was a young teen my mother decided I had bipolar disorder. I don’t remember really if there was a particular event that precipitated this “diagnosis”; I do remember her saying that I was doing poorly in school and that was why she begin to think that I had bipolar disorder. But I have looked back into my school records and saw that I wasn’t a bad student. In fact, I consistently made the honor roll.

Furthermore, my mother herself had bipolar disorder so perhaps she was trying to deflect her illness unto me. Now, I entered the phase of my life where I was regularly paraded around to shrinks whose job it was to diagnose me with bipolar disorder amongst other mental disorders I was later diagnosed with by different psychiatrists.

Painting of blue, icy cliffs with a tan path and yellow sky

Mood Disorders, Dual-Diagnosis, and MSbP Behavior

In reality, people who actually have bipolar disorder (which I don’t) have a high risk of also having drug addiction, and this situation is called “dual diagnosis”. My mother was especially fond of announcing that I was genetically “double whammied”: I was mentally ill and a drug addict. Strangely enough, I am not either one of those today.

Important Notes about MSbP

What is important to note here is that I believe my mother did actually have bipolar disorder, and my sister has recently been diagnosed with it. Luckily, I do not. These facts are pertinent. At this point in the albeit inadequate line of scientific inquiry behind the cause of MSbP, it is clear that MSbP is a family systems disorder, passed down from generation to generation. What is not clear is how it starts.

Although not all MSbP perpetrators have mood disorders like bipolar or schizophrenia, we have a working hypothesis at the Proxy Project that MSbP behavior starts with a perpetrator with a mood disorder. Perhaps it is an anxiety reaction coupled with paranoia. My mother, in her manic states, would sometimes become paranoid, saying that people were after her. It is ironic, though, because I was the one receiving treatment unnecessarily for bipolar disorder and my sister is currently diagnosed with it.

After I got “bipolar disorder”, the “Lyme disease” phase was over, and we were into a new era. In my next post, I describe what it was like to be in the new phase, where I had “bipolar disorder”, my mother and my sister did not, and how these delusions led to me being toxically poisoned repeatedly.

Interested in theories about family systems?

“Internal family systems theory” was developed to help treat eating disorders, but has been used to treat other conditions. Check it out here.

Image by CEMiller

Please reply!

